Planning on promoting or giving freely your MacBook Professional with a Touch Bar? Even in the event you wipe your Mac and reinstall macOS from scratch, it gained’t take away every little thing: details about your fingerprints and different safety features are saved individually, and might stay after your wipe your laborious drive.
That is particularly in the event you used a 3rd celebration instrument, or Goal Disk Mode, to wipe the laborious drive.
It seems, your MacBook Professional with Touch Bar truly has two processors: the Intel processor that runs your working system and packages, and a T1 chip, which powers the Touch Bar and Touch ID. That second processor contains the “Secure Enclave”, which is used to lock down all types of details about you, together with your fingerprints, in an area that the OS itself and any software program you’re working can’t straight manipulate. To cite Apple:
Your fingerprint information is encrypted, saved on system, and protected with a key obtainable solely to the Secure Enclave. Your fingerprint information is used solely by the Secure Enclave to confirm that your fingerprint matches the enrolled fingerprint information. It might’t be accessed by the OS in your system or by any purposes working on it.
However don’t panic: in accordance to Apple, you’ll be able to take away this data with a single Terminal command.
This works finest if run from Restoration Mode. So reboot your Mac and maintain the “R” button if you hear the startup chime.
As soon as the macOS installer begins, open a Terminal by clicking Utilities > Terminal within the menu bar.
From the Terminal, run this command:
When you achieve this, your private data can be wiped from the Secure Enclave.
It’s value noting that it’s extraordinarily unlikely any of the data left within the Secure Enclave may show helpful for a would-be hacker: your fingerprints aren’t saved there, solely the means to confirm them. To cite Apple once more:
As a safety safeguard, Touch ID by no means shops a picture of your fingerprint — only a mathematical illustration of it that’s not possible to reverse engineer.
Nonetheless, there’s all the time an opportunity Apple is flawed, so it’s good to ensure that all your private data is totally gone earlier than handing off your laptop computer. Operating the above command allows you to try this.