How to Stop Uber from Tracking Your iPhone’s Location When You Aren’t Using the App

Posted on

Most iOS apps that require your location offer you a selection: you possibly can “At all times” grant it entry, or solely grant it entry “Whereas Using the App”. Uber, nevertheless, solely gave you an “At all times” or “By no means” selection, which implies it may observe you after your journey ends and also you cease utilizing the app. And so they did simply that.

With iOS 11, that lastly modified—Apple pressured apps to supply the “Whereas Using” choice for location permissions. Uber claims they’ve stopped this apply, however the iPhone app nonetheless “At all times” has entry to your location except you revoke that previously-granted entry. And so long as it has that permission, Uber may begin monitoring you outdoors of the app each time it needs to.

To revoke Uber’s potential to at all times observe your location, head to Settings > Privateness > Location Companies in your iPhone.

 

Scroll down and faucet the “Uber” app in the listing. Faucet “Whereas Using” and Uber will solely have entry to your location when you’re truly utilizing the app.

(For those who even have Lyft put in, you don’t want to fear about this. Lyft solely permits you to select between “By no means” and “Whereas Using”, so you possibly can’t even present “At all times” entry to the Lyft app. Good on you, Lyft.)

 

When you’re right here, you must most likely scroll by way of the listing and see which different apps “At all times” have entry to your location. For those who don’t belief an app with entry to your location, you possibly can faucet it and choose “Whereas Using” as an alternative.

Word that sure options might not work if you happen to disable this for some apps. For instance, a climate app that runs in the background and sends you notifications about the climate received’t give you the chance to replace your location in the background except you give it this location entry.

قالب وردپرس

Leave a Reply